Thinking of an old friend

We spent some time yesterday thinking about our friend Peter who passed away one year ago. He was a friend and musical comrade, and he was very much loved by our community. We played together in a jug band and he always shouted “Costa Rikker! Costa Rikker!” whenever he saw me because that was the song I sang. I loved hearing him stomp his cane on the floor and tap on the milk jug with his drumsticks and I loved the way he sang: half-talking, half-singing, all spirit. He was enthusiastic and fun and quick with a wink and a smile. I always smiled too when I was around him. A good friend. I miss him and think about him often.

Thank you Peter, for all the joy and music and storytelling and love that you shared with us. We were lucky to know you.

Leave a Reply

